Payroll Giving Quality Mark

Payroll Giving Quality Mark

Every year, any employer running a Payroll Giving scheme can achieve a Payroll Giving Quality Mark.

The awards are graded based on % of employees giving from your total staff base, and calculated annually.
Launched in January 2006, the Payroll Giving Quality Mark recognises and rewards organisations for making Payroll Giving available to their staff.

Comprising a certificate and logo, as well as Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum Awards, the Quality Mark aims to provide UK charities with sustainable income streams by increasing participation in Payroll Giving.

Once you set up a Payroll Giving scheme, you will automatically receive a certificate as well as a logo for use on your letterheads, websites and other company literature. These acknowledge that you have implemented Payroll Giving and demonstrate (both within your organisation and publicly) that you are committed to the good causes your employees care about.



The Quality Mark Awards reward employers for fostering a culture of committed giving in the workplace by actively promoting Payroll Giving.

Awards are available for organisations that achieve minimum staff participation rates and employer support in Payroll Giving as outlined below:

Bronze Award

Awarded to employers that achieve 1% employee participation rate in Payroll Giving.

Silver Award

Awarded to employers that achieve 5% employee participation in Payroll Giving.

Gold Award

Awarded to employers that achieve 10% employee participation in Payroll Giving + employer support*.
* Employer support means that the employer must either pay the administration charge, match donations or demonstrate that they have carried out an active promotion of Payroll Giving during the previous year .

Platinum Award

The Platinum Quality Mark Award recognises employers that continually strive to increase donations to UK charities through Payroll Giving. Employers that are recognised through the Platinum Award will have committed themselves to promoting Payroll Giving in the workplace and increasing charitable donations.

Platinum Award Criteria
Employers must have achieved and held the Gold Quality Mark Award for at least one year (i.e. the 2016 Gold Award) prior to applying for a Platinum Quality Mark Award in 2017 and completed at least one task from each of the  sections below in the past 12 months:

Increased Payroll Giving (a minimum of one must have been achieved)

  • Either achieved an overall employee sign-up to Payroll Giving of 20%, or increased employee take-up from the previous year by a minimum of 10%
  • Increased existing donations (through demonstrable promotion) by a minimum of 10%
  • Matched employee contributions by a minimum of 10%

Promoted Payroll Giving (a minimum of one must have been achieved)

  • Actively encouraged pensioners (past employees) to continue to use Payroll Giving
  • Used volunteers or past employees to promote Payroll Giving to current staff
  • Provided evidence of an active promotion that encouraged clients and customers to use Payroll Giving
  • Introduced (and signed-up) a minimum of five new employers to Payroll Giving (evidenced through relevant PGAs)
  • Publically demonstrated commitment to Payroll Giving through use of the Payroll Giving and Quality Mark logos on letterhead, websites and other promotional materials
  • Demonstrated effective use of the induction and/or review process to introduce staff to Payroll Giving.


The brand new Quality Mark will be available from 2018 to reward and recognise companies achieving 30% or more employee participation. It has been announced in 2017 to honour 30 years of Payroll Giving and the significant impact Payroll Givers have had on charities.


Apply Now :-

Just the date and then its done

Platinum Quality Mark Award winners are listed in Employer Search.

Payroll Giving Quality Mark

Payroll Giving Portal